Saturday, June 3, 2023

Ryanair Chase Betting Guide


Added to the Cheltenham Festival as recently as 2005, the Festival Trophy, or Ryanair Chase for commercial purposes, is a Group One National Hunt steeplechase in Great Britain which is open to horses aged five years or older. It is run on the New Course at Cheltenham over a distance of two miles, four furlongs and 127 yards during which there are seventeen fences to be jumped.

Ryanair Chase 2022 Stats

Date Thursday, 17th March 2022
Start Time 14:50
Race Distance Two miles, four furlongs and 127 yards
Number of Jumps 17
Race Type Steeplechase
Purse £265,000
Horses’ Minimum Age Five years or older


2022 Ryanair Chase Betting Odds

Horse Novibet Odds
Allaho 3/5
Energumene 3/1
Chacun Pour Soi 5/1
Conflated 13/2
Shan Blue 15/2
Envoi Allen 10/1
Janidil 10/1
Eldorado Allen 11/1
Melon 11/1
Mister Fisher 16/1
Saint Calvados 20/1
Fanion d’Estruval 20/1
Asterion Forlonge 20/1
Cilaos Emery 40/1
Lostintranslation 80/1


2022 Ryanair Chase Betting Tips

Willie Mullins’ eight year old Allaho it is that leads the betting perhaps unsurprisingly so given that he triumphed in this race twelve months ago in impressive style under Rachael Blackmore. That win provided his trainer with his fourth Ryanair Chase win in six years. This is a horse that already has a Group One win under his belt this season, taking down the John Durkan Memorial Chase on his reappearance in December. That win preceded a Group Two victory where he defeated his old rival Fakir D’Oudairies at Thurles. He is showing up this week in good form, with no concerns around the conditions so looks a worthy favourite, if a little short in price.

The JP McManus owned Janidil beat his better fancied stablemates Franco De Port and Asterion Forlonge in a Group One at Fairyhouse last season before chasing home Energumene in the Ryanair Novice Chase at the Punchestown Festival over another two miles. He also pushed Allaho to within just two lengths in the John Durkan Memorial Chase on his seasonal reappearance before struggling over three miles in the Savills Chase at Leopardstown over Christmas. This step back in trip should suit him much better then.

Nine year old Saint Calvados ran a brilliant race in the King George VI Chase when making his stable debut for Paul Nicholls and will be well suited to this minor drop in trip. Back in his Harry Whittington days, he was only beaten by a neck to Min in this race, while beating A Plus Tard back in to third and 2019 champion Frodon in to fourth. He hasn’t been out much since then but the return to Cheltenham and the drop back in distance should suit him.

All About The Ryanair Chase

Officially known as the Festival Trophy, the Ryanair Chase is a National Hunt steeplechase that, as of, 2008, has held Group One status. The race takes place over a distance of two miles, four furlongs and 127 yards and is for horses five years and up.

When the Cheltenham Festival was extended to four days from its original three in 2005, several new races were introduced, the modern day Ryanair Chase being one of them. The race is staged on the New Course at Cheltenham during which there are seventeen fences to be jumped.

A History Of The Ryanair Chase

The Ryanair Chase was created specifically to develop an amended version of the Cathcart Chase while at the same time creating a championship contest for chasers between the two miles of the Queen Mother Champion Chase and the extended three and a quarter miles of the Cheltenham Gold Cup. Unlike the Cathcart Chase, the new race was made open to all horses rather than just first and second season chasers.

Known originally as the Festival Trophy, the first three renewals of the race were staged at Group Two level before the race was upgraded to Group One in 2008. The Trevor Hemmings owned and Jonjo O’Neill trained Albertas Run is the only two time winner of the race and also has a second place finish in the race to his name. In 2016, the Ryanair Chase saw its largest ever field when 14 horses went to post.

Former Winners of Ryanair Chase

Year SP Odds Winner Jockey Trainer
2021 3/1 Allaho Rachael Blackmore Willie Mullins
2020 2/1 Min Paul Townend Willie Mullins
2019 9/2 Frodon Bryony Frost Paul Nicholls
2018 8/1 Balko des Flos Davy Russell Henry de Bromhead
2017 7/4 Un de Sceaux Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2016 Evs Fav Vautour Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2015 16/1 Uxizandre Tony McCoy Alan King
2014 3/1 Dynaste Tom Scudamore David Pipe
2013 7/2 Cue Card Joe Tizzard Colin Tizzard
2012 7/2 Riverside Theatre Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson

Ryanair Chase Records

  • The race’s most successful horse is Albertas Run whose two wins in 2010 and 2011 are a race record.
  • With four wins in total, Ruby Walsh is the Ryanair Chase’s leading jockey.
  • Willie Mullins is the races all time leading trainer with four wins.

Ryanair Chase Betting FAQs

Who is the favourite to win the Ryanair Chase?

This could change but right now it is Allaho.

Which channel broadcasts the Ryanair Chase?

In Ireland, viewers looking to watch the race can do so on Virgin Media.

What is the distance of the Ryanair Chase?

The race’s distance is two miles, four furlongs and 127 yards.

Is this a right handed track or a left handed track?

This is a left handed track.

Are winning favourites common or rare in the Ryanair Chase?

Not really, no, only five of the last twelve favourites or joint favourites have won the Ryanair Chase, although ten out of those twelve winners were in the top three in the betting when the race went off.